The 5th annual HTA School of Culinary Art Legacy Young Chef Competition was recently held at the Randburg-based school, with Tyler van der Westhuizen walking away with the top spot. Second place went to Zaydaan Laly and third place to Karabo Phiri.

The competition was created for HTA 2nd year students to showcase their skills and test themselves against their peers before entering industry. Ten Full-Time Second-Year Students were selected through a cook-off and overall theoretical and practical marks to take part in this year’s competition.

The finalists were Anastasia Geldenhuys, Cobus Muller, Craig Morgan, Daphney Kanotsauka, Emile Wienand, Jordan Blain, Karabo Phiri, Keenan Denoon, Tyler van der Westhuizen and Zaydaan Laly.

Judging the competition this year were Chefs Kabelo Segone, Arnold Tanzer, Stuart McClarty, Fungai Muzorewa, Kirsten Jane Howell, Hector Mnyayiza and Devon Holman.

Each finalist was lucky enough to receive a Legacy Competition Hamper filled with prizes from the contributing Sponsors, as well as an HTA School of Culinary Art Legacy embroidered Chef Uniform.

HTA Legacy Competition 2020

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Join Us!

Sign up for the Hospitality Marketplace newsletter!

Art of Duplicity