The Eat Out Restaurant Award winners have been announced, and there’s a new number one restaurant! Last year, The Restaurant at Waterkloof halted The Test Kitchen’s six-year streak when they walked away as Restaurant of the Year – however this year, it’s La Colombe that walks away as the new number one! The Test Kitchen remains at number 2 for a second year and The Restaurant at Waterkloof is now at number 3.

Said an elated Scot Kirton “I could not be more proud of what James Gaag and the team are doing at the moment. It has been an inspirational journey. It’s been a dream since we moved to Silvermist five years ago and we have finally achieved it. The hard work starts now.” Executive Chef James, 31, is still trying to take in the moment. “My team keep me on my toes and inspired every day. The pursuit of excellence is what drives us every day. La Colombe is my home,” says Gaag.

The winning restaurants were determined by the scores of a panel of anonymous judges, headed up by Chief Judge Margot Janse. Said Margot: “South Africa’s culinary evolution is incredibly exciting and seeing so many new restaurants entering the top 30 is testament to this – we’re surrounded by industry excellence. I know how much relentless hard work and determination goes into perfecting each and every unique experience, which is why I feel so honoured to be Eat Out’s Chief Judge.”

Selvin Govender, Marketing Director of Mercedes-Benz Cars, said, “I look forward to this spectacular event every year and this year is no different. I would like to congratulate all the 2019 nominees and winners on their achievements. We salute these culinary heroes and encourage the public to get out there and experience these excellent restaurants.”

All the winners celebrated at the 2019 Eat Out Mercedes-Benz Restaurant Awards are:

  • Eat Out S.Pellegrino & Acqua Panna Chef of the Year: Bertus Basson
  • Eat Out Restaurant of the Year: La Colombe
  • Top 20 Restaurants:
  1. La Colombe
  2. The Test Kitchen
  3. The Restaurant at Waterkloof
  4. Wolfgat
  5. FYN
  6. La Petite Colombe
  7. Eike
  8. Salsify
  9. Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient
  10. Chefs Warehouse at Beau Constantia
  11. Camphors at Vergelegen
  12. Overture
  13. LivingRoom at Summerhill Estate
  14. Chefs Warehouse at Maison
  15. Greenhouse at The Cellars-Hohenort
  16. Le Coin Français
  17. La Tête
  18. The Shortmarket Club
  19. Tjing Tjing Momiji
  20. Rust en Vrede
  • Eat Out Service Excellence Award: The Test Kitchen
  • Eat Out Nederburg Rising Star: Katlego Mlambo of The Marabi Club
  • Eat Out Retail Capital New Restaurant of the Year: Jewell’s Restaurant
  • Eat Out Graham Beck Chefs’ Chef Award: Ivor Jones of Chefs Warehouse at Beau Constantia
  • Eat Out Wine Service Award: Joseph Dhafana of La Colombe
  • Eat Out John Psillos Award for Outstanding Contribution to Service: Jennifer Hugé
  • Eat Out Lannice Snyman Lifetime Achievement Award: Annette Kesler
  • Eat Out Woolworths Sustainability Award: Camphors at Vergelegen
  • Eat Out VISI Style Award: FYN
  • Eat Out Nespresso Innovation Award: The Test Kitchen
  • Eat Out Bridget McCarneyGamechanger Award: Ishay Govender-Ypma and Zayaan Khan of SA POC at the Table
  • Eat Out Irna van Zyl Food Media Icon Award: Dorah Sitole
Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Join Us!

Sign up for the Hospitality Marketplace newsletter!