After a 6-month delay due to the Covid-19 pandemic, The Hospitality Counsel finally had the opportunity to host its Luxe Restaurant Awards at the Rockstar Penthouse of the Houghton Hotel.

“More than 100 nominees were shortlisted for the prestigious awards ceremony, with categories ranging from the best fine dining restaurants to the best burger joints in South Africa,” says the press release.

Chad Fourie, Managing Director of The Hospitality Counsel, said “Our judges have been greatly impressed by the exceptional quality of nominees, and those who are on the shortlist know they have reached a very high standard.”

The Luxe Restaurant Awards Winners for 2020 are:

  • Restaurant of The Year: Restaurant Mosaic
  • Chef of The Year: Chantel Dartnall
  • New Restaurant of The Year: Aurum
  • Style Award: Ethos
  • Icon Award: Lorna Maseko
  • Culinary Media Personality of The Year: Chef Nti
  • Culinary Innovation Award: Gate
  • Culinary Rising Star: The Lazy Makoti
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: David Higgs
  • African Restaurant of The Year: Taste Kitchen
  • Burger Joint of The Year: Buns Out
  • Café of The Year: Tin Roof Café
  • Coffee Shop of The Year: Vintage Coffee
  • Country Restaurant of The Year: Almost Orange
  • Fine Dining Restaurant of The Year: La Colombe
  • Food Truck of The Year: The Filthy Moustache
  • Service Excellence Award: Marble
  • Sustainability Award: Grei
  • Wine Service Award: Moses Magwaza
  • Wine List of The Year: Restaurant Mosaic
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Hyatt Cape TownChef Jack Coetzee